Things that you use which are not vegan!

We can only do our best.
Not everything that we buy is vegan.
We can only do our best.
We avoid everything that inflicts deliberate pain and suffering.
We can only do our best.

When we begin our vegan journey we may start off avoiding…..for instance, beef….then move on to other meat products, then dairy, then we start looking at the clothes we wear and the accessories such as belts and bags. 
What if I told you that there are somethings that are difficult (but not impossible) to avoid.

1. Glue
Could the books you own not be vegan? Veganissimo states that animal glue is traditionally used in paper and wood processing, bookbinding, painting, conservation/restoration and for making musical instruments and furniture. Look to see if there is gelatin listed. 
Gelatin is made from animal protein by boiling bones and other parts of animals.

2. Photo prints
Photos, both printed commercially and at-home, use paper that contains gelatin. Alternatives? Non-photo quality paper.

3. Vaccines
Your flu shot as well as any other vaccine you get is not entirely free of animal substances, according to Veganissimo. Classically, vaccines were created by infecting pathogens into fertilized chicken eggs, then destroying the eggs and extracting the pathogen serum. Modern methods include using cell cultures obtained from the tissues of animals, such as dog kidneys. These samples can be reproduced without addition sample-taking from animals.
Remember your health is important. Do not stop having vaccines, just ask if there is a vegan alternative.

4. LCD screens and displays
Liquid crystals found in screens on TVs, computers and cell phones may be based on cholesterol taken from animals.

5. Batteries
Gelatin is used in metal processing to improve metal’s structure, such as cadmium in batteries. Animal fats and gelatin are used in many technical applications to which we owe the comforts of our life… and “at present it is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to find alternatives” 

6. Vitamin D
Some vitamin D dietary supplements source vitamin D3 from animals. Look for vitamin D3 supplements that are produced from non-animal sources and are clearly labeled “vegan.”

7. Clear fruit juices, beer and wine
Gelatin, egg white, isinglass (fish glue), casein (milk protein) or activated carbon are the top choices for the “fined” process, which clears beverages of cloudy substances. The only way to know if an animal substance was used is to ask the producer.

8. Bone china tableware
This type of pure white, fine china is made of porcelain that contains bone ash, the residue from burned animal bones.
Earthenware or porcelain that’s creamy white, or mineral in origin, can be substituted.

9. Sponges (Porifera)
Natural sea sponges are plant-like animals that live on the sea floor, and used in the bath, for home cleaning or watercolor painting.
Synthetic sponges are alternatives.

10. Pharmaceutical drugs
Lots of drugs contain hidden animal substances in the form of excipients, ingredients that stabilize or bulk the medicine. The most commonly used substance is lactose (milk sugar), which can be found in tablets. Another is gelatin, which is found frequently in capsules. Look for vegan alternatives which include starch or cellulose.

Looking at labels may not give you all the answers. Contact the producers for definite answers. 
Never stop checking. 
Never give up trying to find animal free alternatives.
And if you do have to use something that is animal based because there is presently no alternative, do not feel guilty, feel angry with the producers and keep pushing for change.

We are an advance society and the engineers, scientist, manufacturers, must look for alternatives. 


Please follow and like Purple Nanny:

Related posts

Leave a Comment

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.
More information on Akismet and GDPR.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.